Scared, a little.

 

I can’t remember mentioning this on Friday or not, but no better time than right now.

There isn’t much going on at work anyways.

Have I mentioned that I’ve been with my current employer for about 7 years now?  Here lately I’ve the feeling, the stress and frustration that my time here is coming to an end. I know the economy is rough and times are hard.  Which doesn’t explain the Now Hiring signs I see littering the city here. That aside, I feel the urge to do something else.

I’ve clicked some buttons online and have sent my information into a couple of cooking schools in the Atlanta, GA area. I’m excited and terrified at  the same time.

I did nothing educational after HS 12 years ago… Shame I know. I did attempt the Real Estate field, but failed miserably on their testings. In my defense I was in the beginning stages of a separation and a divorce. That’s not a good excuse is it?

Needless to say I didn’t keep trying. I gave up. Typical of me.

In the past couple of years I’ve toyed with the idea of attempting to be a police officer.  After much though I decided, though glamorous, there is a good chance it won’t be the road for me.

 

Now I think  I want to be a chef. How cool right?  Creating yummy foods and in the future I could aspire to be the chef of my own restaurant. How awesome would that be?

 

 

 

I think it could be an interesting chapter to my life, it won’t come with out sacrifice though.  Which brings me to the fear.

As I said earlier, I’ve been here for 7 years.

I worry that I could flip and flop and never find the kitchen for me. OR worse there just isn’t any work for a chef anymore. That maybe the glamour of that job is what you see on television. Never going much further than that.

I don’t know what to do, I will however talk to the admission lady and see what they say, the deets if you will.  She’s calling me today after work… terrified!

 

Hang(ing) in there!

4 responses

  1. Oh my gosh, I have thought of going to culinary school myself. I think it would be awesome to be a chef, that being said, I don’t know that I would let my job go.I think it would be a different story if u out right new they where going to be letting you go. How about going to school in he evening after work or maybe droping down to part time. I don’t know it just seems so scary to give up auk. In this economy, you know?

  2. I agree, night or online classes are a good start right now with such an iffy economy. Maybe drop to part time as Abs (Abbie) said…. that way you won’t be giving up all your money with will definitely come in handy. Talk to your boss, they might be willing to work around your school schedule.

Leave a Reply

